Meet the author

Facebook cover picThe Crone Club is my third book. The first two were written in collaboration with my husband Vince, under the pen name S. V. Peddle.

Vince and I met 26 years ago when we were both living and teaching in Crete. Our first book The Moon Maiden grew out of our love for the site of Knossos, which we have visited many times. It s a reworking of the myth of Pasiphae, the bull and the Minotaur and is based in our vision of the ancient Minoan culture.The Moon Maiden was published in 2003 by Blackie and Co.

We presently live on the beautiful island of Jersey. Our second book, Pagan Channel Islands, a work of non-fiction, Fully illustrated with many photographs, this was published by Robert Hale in 2007 and re-issued in paperback in 2009.

I started writing the Crone Club as I neared 60 myself and started to reflect on the next stage of my life.  I was actually born in 1952, which makes me slightly younger than The Crone Club members and somewhat behind the age of the  “hippy.”  However, I was profoundly inspired by the ideals of the times.Most of the characters of The Crone Club are parts of me that have been given free rein to be themselves. Like Cass, the protagonist of the first book of the series, I had a difficult relationship with my first husband.  Like the bookish Alison, I came from a working class background and attended a Secondary Modern school, before transferring to a Grammar School to take my A levels.   I also developed strong feminist beliefs at university in the 70s. Like the nomadic George, I have travelled abroad, teaching English as a Foreign Language. I have also become something of a heavy weight over the years so I can empathise with her struggle with the loss of her looks.  Despite being a teacher, I don’t really share Mary’s need to control, but I can identify with the way she keeps charity and old-fashioned notions of service at the core of her values.  I have to admit that I share the twins’ mischievous streak and raucous sense of humour.   The only character you’ll noticed I don’t lay claim to is Bambi.   I have to admit that she originally grew out of the need to provide a fairy godmother, but there is much more to Bambi than that, as both this book and future books in the series will show.

The idea of each character setting themselves a dream and a challenge grew out of the way I have tackled the big stages of my life in the past.

If you want to find out more about the Crone Club or our other books go to our websites on:

http://www.thecroneclub.co.uk
http://www.svpeddle.co.uk

If you have read the book and wish to talk to me about it you can e-mail me at: author@sthecroneclub.co.uk

Posted on March 8, 2013, in About The Crone Club and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Lynn Schneider Books

Baby Boomer Lit: Author and Reviewer

